Pierre de Coubertin was the founder of modern Olympics and was convinced of the importance of sport in the development of the individual. He believed in the qualities of excellence, sportsmanship and respect which embody the values of Olympism.

The Pierre de Coubertin Awards, an initiative of the Australian Olympic Committee, are designed to reward not only the elite sports people but those that display strong character and ideals, representing their school at the highest standard both on and off the field. Previous Western Australian winners of this award include Fergus Kavanagh (Olympian, Hockey), Kim Mickle (Olympian, Athletics), Harry Taylor (Geelong FC) and Daniel Wells (North Melbourne FC).

The Awards are held annually in each state (except NT) and are presented to one Year 10, 11 or 12 student from participating high schools. In WA in 2018, the Australian Olympic Committee awarded 43 students from among the approximately 16,000 students attending those participating high schools. 

Congratulations to Madi on being selected for the Award. As a result she was invited to a Presentation Ceremony which included attending seminars with elite athletes. After spending a day with some inspiring Olympians, Madi gave the following insights:

"A highlight was meeting all the Olympians and hearing their amazing stories and how they overcame several obstacles in their lives before getting to the Olympics.

I was most excited about meeting Lauren Mitchell who is an Olympic gymnast. She overcame major injuries during her training, however was able to push through to continue her journey to achieve her goal of getting to the Olympics. These incredible athletes inspired me because they all had such amazing attitudes and despite challenges never gave up chasing their dreams.

Overall this was an incredible day and I feel very privileged to be able to have this opportunity."

Madi Heady
Year 11 Student